top of page

WARNING: This post may contain profanity and graphic material not suitable for people under 18.

Browse responsibly!

Why I'm okay with fundraisers – to an extent.


I've been hearing a lot about authors starting Kickstarter or GoFundMe campaigns for their books. I actually haven't seen a single person talk about the other side of the coin, so I guess I will, since it's been on my mind lately.


I'll begin by saying that I have no problem with authors asking for money – and below are some reasons why.


Some arguments I've heard:


From other self-pub authors - “I paid for my book and never asked my readers and supporters for a single red cent.”


Yeah, but wouldn't it have been nice to have a little help? I've heard plenty of times about well-respected authors borrowing money from family members to produce books. Even if they have to pay it back, it's still asking. (Below I talk a little about my belief in giving incentives to readers for donating, which would qualify as “paying them back”.)


Plus, just because you didn't, doesn't mean it shouldn't be done. I've paid for some of my books, others were paid for by publishers. Either way, I don't feel the least bit upset at these authors for asking.


Different strokes, you know.


“It's disrespectful.”


How exactly is it disrespectful? Do you punch the homeless on the street for panhandling? Or do you just walk by and ignore them? Or do you contribute? Lots of them are just trying to keep their head above water, a homeless person's “project” just happens to be creating a better life for themselves. Hell, sometimes it's not. Sometimes they spend your spare change on booze or drugs.


My point is, these authors are just asking for money they don't have to do something they want to do. It's not like it's law being written that taxes you or or something that's forced on you. It's a request, one which you can deny if you want. That's the beauty of it, it's optional.


“I'm broke. Why would I give money to your stupid campaign? Stop being lazy and get a job.”


Uh, sometimes these authors do have jobs, they just don't have the money to produce a book and they're trying to raise it for the project. I've seen campaigns started for people's kids to go to prom … or on school trips. I've seen them for producing machines, products, movies and other projects. Why should a book get different treatment? The Veronica Mars movie wouldn't be around if not for a funding campaign. Why wasn't that frowned on? Because it happens to cost more than creating a book?


If you're broke and you don't have the money to contribute, then the answer is simple: don't. But you don't have to be hateful about being asked either.


“Why don't they just wait and pay for it over time as they go? Or save the money themselves?”


This is the ONLY sound argument I've heard. I agree that setting up a fund for your book exhibits a little bit of impatience. It took me several months to save up enough to do work on my books. By the time I had the money, it'd been a few months since I'd written it. The MS was figuratively gathering dust in a drawer. I was patient, but I would have loved to get it published sooner rather than later.


Honestly, though, the wait didn't kill me and it wouldn't kill any of the campaigning authors to wait, either.


My point is...


Kickstarters and GoFundMes for authors are just like any other campaign for raising money. You have a cause – getting your book out there to your readers – and you have bills to pay or complications which don't allow you to save the money yourself (at least not with ease).


It doesn't seem right to put someone down for asking for donations just because not everyone asks for them. We all have a difficulty level in our lives. For some it's easy saving money, for others it's not. The point is, you can't know what it's like to be them and live their lives. A lot of them don't ask for your money from a cocky standpoint, or with a feeling of entitlement. Often they're asking with just as much humility as the next person would have.


Even if it's a matter of impatience, haven't you ever been impatient in your life, critics?


I've heard these people being called every name in the book from lazy to selfish to greedy. But really? Why all the vitriol?


I mean if you don't want to contribute, don't. I don't see the point in trashing those people for trying a different way to raise money. Like punching a homeless/jobless person – it wouldn't accomplish anything – except hurt someone else and possibly make you look like an asshole.


What I'm NOT saying...


I'm NOT saying that all authors who start campaigns have good and pure intentions. Some of them might be con-artists. I'm not saying don't be smart about where you put your money – though that's your business and not mine. I'm saying that not ALL authors are thieves and con-artists. I'm saying that the bad ones and good ones shouldn't be treated the same. A little discretion on our parts goes a long way in discerning the bad from the good.


I DO have some problems with the authors that start these campaigns:


Mass messages to strangers.


I don't agree with sending mass messages to people except in certain situations. I definitely don't agree with it if you've never even spoken to the recipient. It's informal and not cute. If you want people involved in your life as an author, get to know them first. Until then, don't bother them.


When authors set INSANE goals for their book costs.


Okay, I've gotten some books published. I think most of you folks will agree, it doesn't cost $18,000 to self-publish a novel. It just doesn't.


Some of these authors might use the excuse that it's for paying bills while they produce the book. But … producing a book isn't a full-time job. You send your manuscript away. You send your ideas away to the cover designer. The only time you invest during production is the systematic edits of your book – and again, that's not a full-time job.


Let me outline what I believe is a reasonable budget (one which I'm sure most of you will agree with):


Editing - $300-$1500

Cover Production - $100-500

Stock Images - $30-$1,000

Formatting - $100-300

ISBN - $10-125


So MAX, your book shouldn't cost more than $3500, give or take a few bucks. Seriously. If you're smart or frugal about it, you could come out spending as little as around $600 and still get your book on the market. Heck, in this day and age, you can do a lot of that work yourself. Need a cover? Learn how to use GIMP (a free program available online) or Photoshop. Need teasers and promo images? Pic Monkey. Need stock images? Enlist the help of someone who knows how to take pictures or learn how to take them yourself. If they don't come out right the first time, keep trying till you get it right. Need formatting? There are guides all over the web. If there's one thing I suggest you do NOT skip out on, it's an editor. NEVER skip out on an editor and … please, for the love of your readers, NEVER edit your own book ALONE. Get other eyes on it – professional eyes – ones that do diligent work and know how to spell and punctuate. I may do another blog post about this later, because editing is a long arduous process and is NOT easy, not for you or for your editor.


Don't have the time to do any of this yourself? My original point of paying less still stands.


Sorry, I got off on a tangent there.


When authors don't offer compensation for their readers'/supporters' investments.


Authors should offer at least an e-book copy of the book when someone donates at least twice the cost of the e-book copy – $5.00 for example. This would ensure that the person has incentive to donate, and it also means that you still have enough money to produce the book. It's almost like glorified pre-ordering, and it benefits everybody.



In closing...


I promise that when an author asks you for money, it's nothing personal. 99% of the time, those authors are not contacting you thinking that you're just some dumb, rich sap that's sitting around your house waiting to donate to their campaign. They're just casting their line out – even if it's done with less than stellar Internet tact.


Be kind to each other. Even if you don't like the idea, just ignore them. Sure, if there is no other possible thing in your life that you feel you could be doing in the moment EXCEPT be mad that somebody asked you for money (like having a glass of your favorite beverage, having sex, weeding your garden maybe), say your peace about it – but you don't have to be hateful or mean. Be as nice as you can. I promise, if even if you're a notorious asshole/bitch (and take joy in that fact), you'll get satisfaction from being nice at least once in your life. Go the extra mile and try being encouraging and helpful. If you absolutely feel that you have to intervene, why not suggest alternatives to help authors find another way to raise money? Or … here's a revolutionary idea – say nothing! And I don't mean that to sound ugly or mean, but sometimes saying nothing at all is the biggest statement you can make.


Just whatever you do, try to do it without hurting people and calling names. It's not going to help the situation.


Ultimately, you could ignore them. We all have an opinion, but would yours really make a difference in the problem?


Worst case scenario: someone asks you for money, you take a breath and realize that it's really not that big of a deal, then you move on with your life.



Do you agree? Disagree? Feel free to drop me an email or a message.


As always, thanks for reading.

bottom of page